maharashtra's three jyotirlingas (2026): go before november or wait it out

the simhastha kumbh starts at trimbakeshwar on 31 october 2026 and runs to 2028. costs, bhimashankar's 3pm blackout, and why ellora beats all three.

· updated Aug 14, 2026

tldr: the date that decides this trip: the nashik-trimbakeshwar simhastha kumbh begins on 31 october 2026 and runs to roughly july 2028. go before november, or accept that trimbakeshwar is a mela town for two years. there is no third option and any 2026 guide that does not open with this is wasting your time. beyond that: the three temples sit at the corners of a 700 km triangle, so this is a driving trip with temples attached — four days is the honest number, not three. bhimashankar has a 45-minute darshan blackout at 3pm that nothing else flags, trimbakeshwar’s bhaktniwas will not take a solo booking on any room type, and ellora — one km from grishneshwar, about rs 40 — is better than all three temples put together. budget rs 4,000 on buses, rs 8,500 done sensibly, rs 12,000-plus with a car.


the deadline

it is august 2026. you have about eleven weeks.

the simhastha kumbh at nashik and trimbakeshwar formally begins with dhwajarohan, the flag hoisting, on 31 october 2026, at trimbakeshwar, ramkund and panchavati. it runs through to roughly july 2028. the main shahi snans — the amrit snans — fall in august and september 2027, reported as 2 august, 31 august, and 11 to 12 september.

kushavarta kund at trimbakeshwar is the shaiva akhara centre. the trust’s own site confirms the shahi snan in simhastha is performed at kushavarta and that the sadhu akharas are based in trimbakeshwar. ramkund at nashik is the vaishnava centre.

what that means for an ordinary traveller with three days and a temple list: from november, trimbakeshwar stops being a town you can casually visit. first it becomes a construction site — road widening, ghat work, crowd infrastructure — and then it becomes a mela town with a floating population measured in crores. accommodation prices across nashik and trimbakeshwar will detach from anything resembling normal. the queue figures below will stop applying.

so, plainly:

  • before 31 october 2026: do the circuit. this post applies.
  • november 2026 to mid-2028: either go deliberately for the kumbh, planned as its own trip with its own logistics and its own budget, or do the other two jyotirlingas and come back.
  • the worst option is turning up in early 2027 expecting a quiet three-temple weekend.

no operator selling you a package is going to tell you not to come. that is the whole reason this section is at the top.

the circuit page for this route is at /yatra/maharashtra-jyotirlinga.


one thing i cannot tell you

bhimashankar’s own website carries a renovation-closure notice. the wording: the temple is closed for renovation work till 31st may, described as a tentative date that may get extended based on progress.

the notice has no year on it and it was still live in august 2026.

i am not going to tell you the temple is closed and i am not going to tell you it is open. an undated banner on a trust site is not evidence of either. ring the temple or your accommodation before you commit a day and a 125 km drive. if you are building an itinerary around bhimashankar, that phone call is the first thing you do, before you book anything else on this list.


the awards

best thing on this circuit, and it is not a temple: ellora, one kilometre from grishneshwar, about rs 40. cave 16, kailasa, is the largest monolithic structure on earth — an entire temple complex carved top-down out of a single basalt hill. 34 caves. most jyotirlinga itineraries mark it optional. it is the reason to make the trip. 10/10. closed tuesdays.

best temple of the three: trimbakeshwar, for the tri-faced lingam. it is not one lingam — it is three small lingams in a hollow for brahma, vishnu and mahesh, and there is a replica outside so you can actually see what you just looked at, because inside you are moving. 9/10.

best setting: bhimashankar. a wildlife sanctuary in the western ghats, the source of the bhima river, malabar giant squirrels in the woods. it is the only jyotirlinga where the drive is better than the town. 9/10.

best-value rule nobody mentions: the free list on trimbakeshwar’s rs 200 pass — under 10s, over 65s, divyangjan, and pregnant women past six months go free. if you are travelling with parents over 65, that is real money and nobody will volunteer it at the counter. 9/10.

most overrated decision: doing all three in three days. 700 km of driving, with a 300 km six-to-seven-hour leg between grishneshwar and bhimashankar. give it four days or drop one temple. 4/10 as a plan.

most overrated paid product: trimbakeshwar’s rs 200 pass on a quiet weekday. the free line is an hour to ninety minutes and the pass is not a timed entry — it is a different lane. save it for weekends and festivals, where it earns its money. 5/10 midweek.

most likely to catch you out: the 3:00pm madhyan aarti at bhimashankar — 45 minutes of no darshan. arrive at 3pm after a four-hour drive and you sit on the steps. avoid entirely.

the fact that says the most in the fewest words: grishneshwar, the twelfth jyotirlinga, has no working official website. trimbakeshwar’s flagship puja is a livestream you cannot attend in person. and trimbakeshwar’s bhaktniwas will not accept a booking from one person on any room type.


the three temples, compared

bhimashankartrimbakeshwargrishneshwar
wherebhorgiri, sahyadri hills, pune district30–35 km from nashikverul, chhatrapati sambhajinagar district
nearest railpune junction, 125 kmnashik road, 30–35 kmchhatrapati sambhajinagar, ~40 km
free darshanyesyesyes
paid queue-skipnone publishedrs 200 donation passnone published
hours5:00 am – 9:30 pmroughly 5:30 am – 9:00 pm, last pass entry 9pmroughly 5:30 am – 9:30 pm with an afternoon break — unverified, confirm
the catch45-min blackout at 3pm; a real descent and climb backtri-faced lingam; the puja economymen must remove shirt and vest for the garbhagriha
phonesnot statednot statedbanned, paid lockers only
prasadpedhamawa sweets, milk cake
official sitebhimashankar.intrimbakeshwartrust.comnone that works
pairs withgupt bhimashankar, mumbai pointkushavarta, brahmagiri, anjaneri, nashikellora, 1 km
my rating9/10 setting, 7/10 temple9/106/10 temple, 10/10 with ellora

one honest note on that table: the confidence level drops as you move right. bhimashankar publishes a full daily schedule. trimbakeshwar publishes tariffs, pass rules and puja rates. grishneshwar publishes nothing at all — shrigrishneshwar.com returns an empty page — so everything in that column comes from people who have been there recently rather than from a trust. i would rather tell you that than build a table that looks equally authoritative all the way across.


bhimashankar

the official schedule

timewhat
4:30 amkakada aarti
5:00 amnijarup darshan
5:30 amregular pooja and abhishek begins
12:00 pmnaivedya pooja, no abhishek inside
12:30 pmregular pooja and abhishek resumes
3:00 pmmadhyan aarti — no darshan for 45 minutes
4:00 – 9:30 pmshringar darshan, no abhishek inside
7:30 pmaarti
9:30 pmmandir closed

abhishek inside the temple runs until 2:00 pm normally, and until 6:00 pm on mondays, pradosh, through shravan maas and on mahashivratri.

the 3pm line is the one to internalise. it is on the trust’s own timetable and i have not seen a single other guide mention it. pune to bhimashankar is four hours; leave at 10:30am and you arrive precisely into the dead zone.

the best window is the one nobody uses: 4:30am kakada aarti and 5:00am nijarup darshan. both official, both published, and almost nobody is awake for them. if you slept at bhimashankar, this is why.

the steps question

how many steps down to the temple? the trust’s own site says around 150. people who have counted on camera say 250 and 350. three sources, three answers, one of them the temple itself.

what is actually true: it is a proper descent and you have to climb back up. there is also a level road route round the side that is not signposted anywhere. if stairs are the problem, ask for it rather than assuming there is no alternative.

pujas, stays and getting there

the trust names seven poojas — abhishek, rudrabhishek, mahapuja, mahapuja with mahanaivedya, laghurudra, and two laghurudra combinations — and publishes no rates for any of them. prasad arrives by post in eight to ten days. i am not going to repeat an affiliate figure; ask at the counter.

stays are genuinely limited. it is a village inside a wildlife sanctuary. mtdc bhimashankar has deluxe rooms around rs 1,568 and vip rooms around rs 2,240, plus a dormitory with no published rate. rooms near the bus stand run about rs 700, near the temple rs 1,000 to 1,500. the trust’s site also points to hotels on the approach road at ghodegaon (45 km out), manchar (65 km out) and hotel natraj, 9 km before the temple. book ahead or sleep in pune.

getting there: pune to bhimashankar is 125 km, about four hours on a ghat road. msrtc runs direct from shivajinagar bus stand, platforms 14 and 15, with the first bus around 5:15 am and services every thirty to sixty minutes after. i have not found a reliable published fare for that route, so i am not going to print one — buy at the counter and it will be bus money, not cab money.

gupt bhimashankar, honestly

2 to 2.5 km through jungle on an unmade riverbed path, an hour to ninety minutes each way. people who have walked it alone describe it as unnerving and do not recommend it for families. it is a shivling in the forest. go if you want the walk. do not go because a list told you to. in monsoon the stream actually runs, which is when it is worth something.

mumbai point is the other add-on — a viewpoint over the sahyadris with the claim that you can see toward mumbai. you cannot, really. the landscape is the point.


trimbakeshwar

the tri-faced lingam

this is the reason to come, and it is genuinely different from the other eleven. trimbakeshwar’s lingam is not one lingam. it is three small lingams set in a hollow, representing brahma, vishnu and mahesh. inside, you are moving and you will barely register the shape — so look at the replica model outside the temple either before or after. one tradition holds that a full lingam stood here before and was broken by invaders; treat that as story rather than settled history.

the rs 200 donation darshan pass

the only paid queue-skip on this circuit.

  • rs 200 per person.
  • free for: under 10s, over 65s, divyangjan carrying a udid or valid certificate, and pregnant women past six months. that exemption list is unusually generous and i have not seen another guide mention it. if you are travelling with elderly parents, that is the whole family’s pass money back.
  • online: you pick a date and a single time band listed as 6am to 8pm. read the trust’s own disclaimer carefully — “the donation darshan pass booking slot is solely for booking the pass. this does not include a darshan time slot.” it is a lane, not an appointment. valid the booked date only, last entry 9:00 pm, non-refundable after thirty minutes, non-transferable, up to four additional people per booking, qr issued in the lead person’s name.
  • offline: two counters, one near kushawart chauk and one at shivprasad bhaktaniwas, same rs 200, show aadhaar, pan or passport, get a barcode receipt.
  • either way, you present pass plus id at the uttar mahadwar gate.

worth knowing: the trust’s menu also lists a “free darshan pass” and the link 404s. people go looking for it, do not find it, and end up talking to whoever is standing outside. if you want the free option, it is simply the ordinary queue.

shivprasad bhaktniwas, and the solo problem

official tariffs, plus 5% gst:

roomrate
non-ac 2 bedrs 1,333
non-ac 3 bed, non-attached washroomrs 1,333
ac 2 bedrs 1,714
non-ac 7 bedrs 2,667
ac 7 bedrs 3,333
non-ac 9 bedrs 3,429
ac 9 bedrs 4,286

check-in after 1:00 pm, check-out 12:00 noon. non-refundable, non-cancellable, non-transferable, and dates cannot be changed once confirmed.

and the one that matters: single-person bookings are not allowed on any room type. minimum two people. a solo traveller literally cannot book the trust’s own bhaktniwas at trimbakeshwar. that is a published rule, not an oversight at the counter, and no blog i have seen mentions it.

the alternatives: private hotels in the bazaar at rs 1,500 to 2,500, much higher in sawan, and gajanand swami trust rooms at rs 500 to 550 a night, offline booking only — which is why they never appear in a search. walk in and ask.

the puja economy

trimbakeshwar is the national centre for kaal sarp dosh, narayan nagbali and tripindi shraddha pujas, and the town runs on it. you will be approached, repeatedly, from the moment you arrive.

here is the part that reframes it. the trust’s own puja products are exactly two — rudrabhishek at rs 2,100 dakshina and laghu rudra at rs 21,000 — and both are conducted online only. the trust’s wording: rudrabhishek puja is conducted exclusively online, with no physical approach to the puja at trimbakeshwar temple. a purohit performs it and you watch from home.

so the temple trust’s flagship ritual product is a livestream. if you walk up in person wanting to book a rudrabhishek through the trust, you cannot. everything you will be offered in the town comes from independent purohits, with no published rates and no trust involvement.

that is not a scam. it is an unregulated market where the price is whatever you agree to. the honest advice: decide your number before you enter the town, and understand that the trust is not the party taking your money.

one more small thing that tells you about the site’s documentation: the trust’s daily programme page lists the evening puja at 7:00 to 8:30 am — the same slot as the morning one. their site, their typo. morning brahma puja 7:00 to 8:30 am, mid-day mahadev puja 10:45 am to 12:30 pm, and assume the evening one is in the evening.

around trimbakeshwar

  • kushavarta kund — the source-pool of the godavari, tirtharaj status, and the shahi snan site in simhastha.
  • brahmagiri hill — around 700 steps plus more path, 1.5 to 2 hours up if you are fit, 2.5 to 3 if you stop. the godavari’s actual origin. tough, carry water, and skip it without guilt if your day is tight.
  • anjaneri — hanuman’s birthplace, about 7 km away, three hills and five to six hours to the real summit. there is a lower temple with a swayambhu bal hanuman for anyone who cannot climb.
  • harihar fort — the famous near-vertical rock-cut steps, if that is your kind of day.
  • panchavati and nashik — ram ghat and the evening godavari aarti, kalaram temple, sita gufa, muktidham.

grishneshwar

the twelfth jyotirlinga, in verul village, about 40 km and an hour from chhatrapati sambhajinagar station, and one kilometre from the ellora caves.

there is no working official website. everything here comes from recent first-hand accounts rather than a trust, and i would rather flag that than dress it up.

what you need to know:

  • men must remove shirt and vest before entering the garbhagriha. this catches people out constantly and it is the single most useful practical fact about grishneshwar.
  • no mobile, no camera, no bags — and no free cloakroom. the shops outside run paid lockers at whatever they charge. it is the only site across all three jyotirlinga sub-circuits with no free option for your things.
  • prasad is mawa sweets and milk cake, sold by the box from a dozen shops outside.
  • shivalaya tirth kund, 700 to 800 metres away, is the pond from the ghushma legend the temple is named for. bathing there is now prohibited, which has made it quiet.
  • janardan swami / mauna giri maharaj temple is about 500 metres away.
  • queues are manageable on normal days and hit five to seven hours in sawan.
  • timings circulate as roughly 5:30am to 9:30pm with a 3:00 to 5:30pm break, extended to 3am–11pm in shravan and on mahashivratri. none of that is officially confirmed anywhere. confirm on arrival.
  • abhishekam rates: no trust publishes them and the figure circulating online comes from a single unreliable source, so i am not printing it. expect to pay at a counter and read the board.

and then walk to ellora

about rs 40 for indian and saarc visitors, rs 600 for foreign nationals, free under 15, small charge for a video camera. roughly 6am to 6pm with last entry around 5pm. 34 caves.

cave 16 is kailasa — a complete temple complex, courtyards, pillars, elephants, carved downward out of a single basalt hill. no assembly, no blocks. it is the largest monolithic structure on earth and it is a kilometre from a jyotirlinga that most itineraries treat as the main event.

it is the best thing on this circuit by a wide margin and it costs less than a coffee.

ellora is closed on tuesdays. ajanta is closed on mondays. people mix these two up and lose a day. do not schedule grishneshwar for a tuesday.


route, distances and the honest structural problem

these three temples are not close together. this is a 700 km triangle, not a loop, and you will spend more hours in transit than in temples. that is the truth of the trip and every itinerary that reads like a gentle weekend is hiding it.

legkmtime
nashik → trimbakeshwar30–35~1 hr
trimbakeshwar → grishneshwar / verul~2004–5 hrs
grishneshwar → bhimashankar~3006–7 hrs
grishneshwar → shirdi~180
shirdi → bhimashankar~180
pune → bhimashankar125~4 hrs
pune → nashik~2155–6 hrs road, 6–7 by bus
pune → chhatrapati sambhajinagar~2505–6 hrs
sambhajinagar → grishneshwar~40~1 hr
grishneshwar → ellora1walk

itinerary a — car, 3 days, the realistic version

day 1: nashik → trimbakeshwar for morning darshan → kushavarta → drive 200 km to verul/ellora, 4 to 5 hours. overnight at ellora. day 2: grishneshwar at opening → ellora caves (not on a tuesday) → drive to bhimashankar, ~300 km, 6 to 7 hours, and it is brutal. break it at shirdi if you want. overnight bhimashankar. day 3: bhimashankar early — kakada aarti 4:30, nijarup darshan 5:00 → gupt bhimashankar or mumbai point → out to pune, 125 km.

verdict on three days: it works and it is a driving trip with temples attached. four days is the right number.

itinerary b — buses and trains, the budget version

  1. train to chhatrapati sambhajinagar → bus or shared auto 40 km to verul. a bus is around rs 50 a head; a shared auto for three or four people runs into the several hundreds total. one night.
  2. overnight train sambhajinagar → pune. limited services but they exist, and sleeping on the train saves a hotel night.
  3. pune junction → shivajinagar bus stand, 5 km → platforms 14 and 15, direct msrtc to bhimashankar, first bus around 5:15 am, about four hours. one night at bhimashankar.
  4. bus back to pune → pune to nashik, 215 km, buses every thirty to forty-five minutes, six to seven hours. nashik to pune runs rs 300 to 500 depending on ac.
  5. nashik cbs → trimbakeshwar, 35 km, about an hour, rs 100 to 150 per person by any mode. one night.

that is three nights and four days of temple time, and realistically closer to a week once the long-distance rail legs are in.

itinerary c — the package, as a benchmark

a full 6 nights / 7 days maharashtra package covering bhimashankar, trimbakeshwar, nashik, grishneshwar, ellora, ajanta and shirdi, with hotels, a private cab and breakfast, prices at roughly rs 22,000 per person for three people, rs 19,000 for four, and rs 16,500 for six.

that is a genuinely useful comparison. the same three temples on buses in four days costs rs 6,000 to 10,000 per person. the package roughly doubles to triples it and adds ajanta, shirdi and a car. below four people, a package stops making sense against simply hiring a car yourself. at six people it is defensible.


costs

stays

placeoptionrate
trimbakeshwarshivprasad bhaktniwas, non-ac 2/3-bedrs 1,333 + 5% gst
ac 2-bedrs 1,714 + gst
ac 7-bed / 9-bedrs 3,333 / rs 4,286
private hotels in the bazaarrs 1,500–2,500, much higher in sawan
gajanand swami trust roomsrs 500–550, offline booking only
bhimashankarmtdc deluxers 1,568
mtdc viprs 2,240
mtdc dormitoryavailable, no published rate
near the bus stand~rs 700
near the templers 1,000–1,500
verul / elloraprivate lodgesrs 800–1,000+
sarveshwar dham bhakt niwasdonation-based, no fixed rate
mid-range hotel at elloraaround rs 2,000, no breakfast

tickets

itemprice
bhimashankar darshanfree
bhimashankar poojasno rates published by the trust
trimbakeshwar free darshanfree
trimbakeshwar donation passrs 200 (free: under 10, over 65, divyangjan, 6mo+ pregnant)
trimbakeshwar rudrabhishekrs 2,100, online only
trimbakeshwar laghu rudrars 21,000, online only
grishneshwar darshanfree
grishneshwar lockerpaid, shops outside, no published rate
ellora caves~rs 40 indian, rs 600 foreign, free under 15
shirdi vip darshan, if routedrs 200, gate 6; free at gates 7 and 8

what it actually costs

tierstaytransportfooddarshantotal
budget — msrtc, trust and dharamshala roomsrs 1,600rs 1,200rs 900rs 200≈ rs 3,900
sensible — bus plus shared cab, trust rooms and mtdcrs 3,000rs 3,500rs 1,500rs 400≈ rs 8,400
private cab throughout, 4 sharing (per person)rs 3,500rs 6,500rs 2,000rs 400≈ rs 12,400
benchmark: full 7-day package, private car, 6 sharingrs 16,500

three days, excluding long-distance travel into maharashtra. people who have done the whole run on buses put it at rs 6,000 to 10,000 per person, which sits neatly between the budget and sensible columns — a good sign that neither is fantasy.


touts and things that go wrong

  1. trimbakeshwar’s puja market. covered above. the trust sells two online-only pujas. everything else is independent purohits with no published rate. agree a number first.
  2. the broken “free darshan pass” link on the trust’s own site. people go looking, do not find it, and get intercepted. the free option is the ordinary queue.
  3. over-65s being charged for the rs 200 pass. the exemption list is published. nobody at the counter is going to volunteer it.
  4. grishneshwar’s paid lockers. small money, and it is the only site here with no free alternative, so carry as little as possible.
  5. shirdi, if you route through it: free darshan is gates 7 and 8, vip is gate 6 at rs 200. the prasadalay meal is free with a token you collect inside during darshan; without one they will sell you a rs 50 vip token. know that before someone tells you the meal costs money.
  6. unmarked sweet shops outside bhimashankar and grishneshwar. pedha and mawa by the box, price decided by how you look.

food

  • bhimashankarpedha is the prasad, several varieties by the box. otherwise it is a hill village with limited options. eat before you go down the steps.
  • grishneshwarmawa sweets and milk cake, a dozen shops. do not expect a proper meal in verul.
  • trimbakeshwar — a real market with restaurants around the temple. the best eating of the three temple towns.
  • shirdi, if routed — shri sai prasadalay, 9:30am to 9:30pm, free with a token from inside the temple.
  • nashik is the actual food city on this circuit, plus the wine country just outside it. chhatrapati sambhajinagar has naan qalia and the marathwada non-veg tradition, though you will not find any of it in verul.
  • if you are staging out of pune, that city is worth a day on its own — see the pune food guide. for nashik, the nashik food guide and nashik street food.

best and worst months

  • best: october to february — with the enormous 2026 caveat that october ends this window for trimbakeshwar for two years.
  • monsoon, june to september: bhimashankar and the ghat road are spectacular and green and gupt bhimashankar’s stream actually runs — but the descent is slippery and sawan falls inside this window with five-to-seven-hour queues at all three temples. a genuine trade-off, not a simple avoid.
  • avoid sawan and mahashivratri unless the crowd is the point.
  • avoid april and may at grishneshwar and ellora. marathwada heat, and ellora has no shade at all.
  • tuesdays: ellora closed. mondays: ajanta closed.
  • from 31 october 2026: simhastha kumbh. see the top of this post.

people who have done the circuit in may say flatly that any month works and the only thing that matters is avoiding the special occasions. i would agree with that everywhere except ellora in peak summer, where the heat is genuinely punishing and you will cut the caves short.


the verdict

bhimashankar: 9/10 for the setting, 7/10 for the temple. trimbakeshwar: 9/10. grishneshwar: 6/10 alone, 10/10 paired with ellora. the circuit as a whole: 7/10.

the seven is deliberate. the individual pieces are strong and the geometry is bad. this is 700 km of driving for three darshans that between them take maybe three hours, and the thing that redeems it — kailasa at ellora — is not a temple on the list at all.

what i would actually do: four days, not three. trimbakeshwar and nashik properly, because nashik earns an evening. then grishneshwar and a full day at ellora, which is the day you will remember. then bhimashankar, arriving the night before so you catch the 5am nijarup darshan with nobody else there, and out to pune.

and if that is not possible before 31 october, drop trimbakeshwar and do the other two. the kumbh is a genuinely extraordinary thing and it is also not what you signed up for when you booked a three-temple weekend. going back in 2029 for a quiet trimbakeshwar is a better plan than fighting a mela for a lingam you cannot see.


before you go

  • ring bhimashankar about the renovation notice. undated, still live, and it decides your itinerary.
  • go before 31 october 2026 or plan a kumbh trip instead.
  • do not arrive at bhimashankar at 3pm. 45-minute blackout.
  • do not schedule grishneshwar for a tuesday. ellora is closed and you will have driven there for nothing.
  • over 65, under 10, divyangjan or six months pregnant: the trimbakeshwar pass is free. ask.
  • travelling solo? the trimbakeshwar bhaktniwas will not take your booking. look at the gajanand swami trust rooms instead, offline, or a bazaar hotel.
  • men, at grishneshwar: shirt and vest off for the garbhagriha.
  • the other two sub-circuits: gujarat’s somnath and nageshwar, and the mahakaleshwar and omkareshwar pair, which is the cheapest and best-organised of the three.

more temple guides at /mandir, including the tirupati darshan guide. the route version of this post lives at /yatra/maharashtra-jyotirlinga, and if you are in pune anyway, the ashtavinayak circuit is a separate three-day loop from the same city.

trimbakeshwar’s tariffs, pass rules and puja rates are from the trust’s own pages; bhimashankar’s timetable is from its site. grishneshwar has no working official site and its figures come from recent first-hand accounts, which is why they are hedged. the kumbh dates are from government and news coverage and will firm up further as october approaches.

frequently asked questions

should you visit trimbakeshwar in 2026 or wait?
if you want a normal three-temple trip, go before 31 october 2026. the nashik-trimbakeshwar simhastha kumbh begins with dhwajarohan, the flag hoisting, at trimbakeshwar, ramkund and panchavati on 31 october 2026, and runs through to roughly july 2028. the main shahi snans fall in august and september 2027 at kushavarta kund. from november onward trimbakeshwar is a construction site and then a mela town, and accommodation across nashik and trimbakeshwar detaches from normal pricing. if the kumbh itself is what you want, plan it as its own trip, not as one third of a jyotirlinga run.
can you cover maharashtra's three jyotirlingas in 3 days?
you can, but it is a driving trip with temples attached. the three sit at the corners of a roughly 700 km triangle — trimbakeshwar to grishneshwar is about 200 km, grishneshwar to bhimashankar about 300 km and six to seven hours. three days works if you have a car and start early every morning. four days is the honest number. on public transport, plan for closer to a week once you count the overnight rail legs.
how much does the maharashtra jyotirlinga trip cost?
about rs 4,000 per person on msrtc buses with trust and dharamshala rooms, around rs 8,500 done sensibly with a mix of buses and shared cabs, and rs 12,000 or more with a private car and four people sharing. as a benchmark, a full seven-day packaged version that also throws in ajanta, ellora and shirdi with a private cab and hotels runs about rs 16,500 per person at six people and rs 22,000 at three.
is there vip darshan at these three temples?
only at trimbakeshwar, which sells a donation darshan pass at rs 200 per person. it is a separate lane, not a timed entry — the trust states explicitly that booking the pass does not book you a darshan slot. you enter through uttar mahadwar with the pass and matching id, and last entry is 9:00 pm on the booked date. it is free for children under 10, anyone over 65, divyangjan with a udid or valid certificate, and pregnant women past six months. bhimashankar and grishneshwar have no published paid tier at all.
do men have to remove their shirt at grishneshwar?
yes. men are required to remove shirt and vest before entering the garbhagriha at grishneshwar, and it catches a lot of visitors out. grishneshwar also bans phones, cameras and bags, and there is no free trust cloakroom — the shops outside run paid lockers at whatever rate they set. it is the only site on this circuit with no free option for your things.
how many steps are there at bhimashankar?
depends who you ask, which is the honest answer. the temple's own site says around 150. people who have counted on camera say 250 and 350. what is reliably true is that it is a real descent to the temple and you have to climb back up, and that there is an unsignposted level road route round the side for anyone who cannot do stairs.
is ellora worth adding to a grishneshwar visit?
it is one kilometre from the temple and costs about rs 40 for indian and saarc visitors, rs 600 for foreign nationals, free under 15, with a small video camera charge. cave 16, kailasa, is the largest monolithic structure on earth, an entire temple complex carved downward out of a single basalt hill. it is comfortably the best thing on this circuit, temple or otherwise. ellora is closed on tuesdays, so do not schedule grishneshwar for a tuesday. ajanta, if you are adding it, closes on mondays — people mix the two up and lose a day.
where do you stay at bhimashankar?
options are genuinely limited because it is a village inside a wildlife sanctuary. mtdc bhimashankar has deluxe rooms around rs 1,568 a night and vip rooms around rs 2,240, plus a dormitory. rooms near the bus stand run around rs 700 and rooms near the temple rs 1,000 to 1,500. the temple's own site points to hotels on the approach road at ghodegaon 45 km out, manchar 65 km out, and hotel natraj 9 km before the temple. book ahead or plan to sleep in pune.
can you book a puja at trimbakeshwar?
through the trust, only two — rudrabhishek at rs 2,100 dakshina and laghu rudra at rs 21,000 — and both are conducted online only. the trust states plainly that there is no physical attendance at these pujas. a temple purohit performs them and you watch remotely. everything else you will be offered in town, including the kaal sarp dosh, narayan nagbali and tripindi shraddha pujas trimbakeshwar is nationally known for, comes from independent purohits with no published rates. decide your number before you enter the town.
is bhimashankar temple open right now?
check before you travel. the temple's own website carries a renovation-closure notice saying bhimashankar is closed for renovation work till 31st may, described as a tentative date that may be extended. the notice carries no year and was still live in august 2026. i am not going to assert the temple is open or closed on the strength of an undated banner. ring the temple or your accommodation before you commit a day and a 125 km drive to it.
share twitter whatsapp

more from mandir